10 C
New York

National Fleet Safety Award Winners Announced


National Safety Award Winners Announced Southland Transportation of Boone, North Carolina won first place in the Truckload Carriers Association’s 36th Annual National Fleet Safety Awards.

The National Fleet Safety Awards are given to fleets with superior safety records in North America.

The awards are broken down by division, based on the total number of miles the fleet has driven.

Southland Transportation is a Division II company and drove between 5 and 14.99 million miles.

We are extremely proud of our safety record, said Derentz Collins, director of Safety and Human Resources at Southland Transportation. The reason we have that impressive record is the quality of our drivers. They are outstanding. We are fortunate to attract the finest drivers from across the region.

Read more: Yadkin Ripple – Boonville trucking company earns national recognition

The 2012 Division II winners are:

First Place “ Southland Transportation Company, Boonville, N.C.

Second Place “ Houff Transfer, Inc., Weyers Cave, Va.

Third Place “ Skyline Transportation, Inc. Knoxville, Tenn.

The awards are sponsored by Great West Casualty Company and are available to any carrier that is a member of the TCA who operate in the U.S. and Canada and that have a proven commitment to safety and accident reduction.

In 2011, Southland Transportation drivers traveled more than 10.7 million miles and had no DOT reportable accidents.




Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking