Find your dream trucking job today
Let us take the hassle out of your next job search.

51 U.S. Representatives Send Letter To Foxx Expression Concerns Over New HOS Rules

US House of Reps According to Politico, fifty-one United States House of Representatives sent a letter to Secretary of Transportation,  Anthony Foxx, to express their concerns over the new hours-of-service rules.

In the letter, the representatives question the FMCSA’s decision to implement the hours-of-service rules before a “statistically-valid field study” was complete.  Map-21 required the study to be complete by March 31, 2012.  To date, the study has not been completed, yet the rules that went into effect on July 1 and are expected to have a tremendous impact on the trucking industry and the consumer.

“These regulations, which strictly limit the use of the 34-hour restart provisions and mandate inflexible rest periods, greatly decrease driver flexibility and rise the costs for the already over-burdened trucking industry,” the letter states.

The representatives estimate that the new HOS rules will cost the industry up to $376 million annually. “Unfortunately, these additional costs will be passed onto our nation’s consumer.”

The representatives have asked the FMCSA to provide a date when the field study will be completed and sent to congress. “It is imperative that the rules governing the commercial trucking industry be backed by statistically-valued and data-driven studies that are fully completed and analyzed.”

“The commercial trucking industry is a pillar of the US economy and small, medium and large businesses across America depend on the on-time, cost-efficient and safe transport of finished products and raw materials each day.  It is imperative that the rules governing the trucking industry be backed by factual, statistically-valid and data-driven studies that are fully completed and analyzed before proposed rules come into effect,” the letter concludes.

The letter was written on August 29.  The representatives have requested a response from Foxx by September 12.

The following US Representatives signed the letter:

  • Richard Hanna
  • Tom Rice
  • Trey Radel
  • Todd Rokita
  • James Lankford
  • Howard Coble
  • Rick Crawford
  • Larry Bucshon
  • Reid Ribble
  • Markwayne Mullin
  • Bob Latta
  • Marsha Blackburn
  • Tim Walberg
  • Lee Terry
  • Phil Rol
  • Bill Huizenga
  • John J. Davis Jr.
  • Duncan Hunter
  • Sam Graves
  • Steve Stivers
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer
  • Scott Perry
  • Adam Kinzinger
  • Tom Cotton
  • Billy Long
  • Kristi Noem
  • Dennis Ross
  • Ted Poe
  • Glenn Thompson
  • Keith Rothfus
  • Roger Williams
  • Aaron Schock
  • Tim Huelskamp
  • Jim Sensenbrenner
  • Steve Womack
  • Ted Yoho
  • Paul Gosar
  • Chris Collins
  • Lou Barletta
  • Sean Duffy
  • Andy Barr
  • Rodney Davis
  • Mike Michaud
  • Mike Pompeo
  • Chris Gibson
  • Steve Daines
  • Dan Benishek