29 C
New York

Medical Certification Deadline Looming, Thousands Still Not Self-Certified


According to the Minnesota Farm Guide, as of last week, approximately 46% of Minnesota’s 250,000 CDL holders have not self-certified and/or have not provided proper medical documentation and are in danger of losing their CDL privileges.

In contrast, Susan Sports, Georgia Department of Driver Services public information officer, said approximately 80 percent of CDL holders in Georgia have already taken the necessary steps to comply with the new regulation.

“We started this several years ago. We’ve mailed out notifications to the drivers, letting them know that the deadline is nearing and all the different ways they can comply,” Sports told the Daily Tribune News. “We’re about 80 percent complete, approximately 80 percent complete, and then the remaining ones we have no way of knowing — do they still want their CDL? … Or have they moved or whatever? We believe we’ve reached more than that, but we’re not sure. At least some of those will still need to fulfill their requirements.”

By January 30, 2014, all CDL holders will be required to self-certify their type of vehicle operation. The type of classification will determine if they need to submit a Fed Med Card to the DMV or not. Some states already require this.

The new regulations do not change who is required to maintain a Fed Med card but they do require drivers to report their exemption if they have one.  CDL holders who do not file a Fed Med card with the DMV or report an exemption will be assumed to be non-compliant, and their licenses will be suspended January 30, 2014.

From FMCSA: What are CDL holders required to do?

  1. You must determine whether you operate in interstate or intrastate commerce, and are excepted or subject to the federal or your State’s requirements. You must certify to your SDLA that you fall into one of the four operation categories listed below,
    • Interstate non-excepted: You are an Interstate non-excepted driver and must meet the Federal DOT medical card requirements (e.g. – you are “not excepted”).
    • Interstate excepted: You are an Interstate excepted driver and do not have to meet the Federal DOT medical card requirements..
    • Intrastate non-excepted: You are an Intrastate non-excepted driver and are required to meet the medical requirements for your State.
    • Intrastate excepted: You are an Intrastate excepted driver and do not have to meet the medical requirements for your State.

    For the definition of interstate and intrastate please click on the following link.

  2. If you are subject to the USDOT medical examiner certification requirement, provide a copy of each new USDOT medical examiner certificate to your SDLA prior to the expiration of your current medical examiner certificate. The medical examiner certificate is often referred to as your “medical card.”

Exempt interstate and intrastate drivers are not required to provide a medical certificate, but they MUST complete a self-certification form.

Follow this link for frequently asked questions.

CDL holders who do not self-certify will have their CDLs downgraded to a Class D license.

Follow this link for state-by-state requirements:



State-by-state information from AAMV.org



Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking