A law that goes into effect on January 1, 2014, will increase the penalty for truck drivers who are caught texting while driving in New Hampshire.
The law will make texting while operating a CMV a serious motor vehicle violation, which could result in a license suspension.
According to New Hampshire.gov,
“Serious” traffic violations are excessive speeding (15.mph.or.more.over.the.posted.speed.limit), reckless driving, improper or erratic lane changes and following too closely. These can be considered either in a commercial vehicle or a personal vehicle. The “serious” violations that can only occur in a commercial vehicle are texting while driving, violation of local law or ordinance involving hand held use of a mobile telephone, driving without the proper class of license and/or endorsements for the specific vehicle group being operating or for the passengers or type of cargo being transported, driving without a CDL and traffic offenses committed in a commercial motor vehicle in connection with a fatal accident.
Penalties for a serious traffic violations:
You will lose your CDL
For at least 60 days if you have committed two serious traffic violations within a three-year period. involving a CMV.
For at least 120 days for three serious traffic violations within a three-year period involving a CMV.
New Hampshire passed the law in order to continue to receive federal safety funds.