The executive director of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles has recently sent out a letter to heighten awareness about the new, higher penalties for weight violations which became effective on September 1, 2013. This change was made in an effort to encourage compliance and prevent damages to the roadways.
Both motor carriers, and shippers will face the stiff weight violation penalties, so it’s’ strongly suggested that shippers provide a Certificate of Weight for the affected motor carriers so that the information can be kept in the cab at all times.
Although these violations will be enforced by the Texas Department of Public Safety, any citations are likely to trigger an administrative audit of the carrier or shipper.
New penalties will include:
Doubled penalties on single axle and tandem axles up to a maximum of $2,500 for third offenses.
The third offense within a year on gross weight penalties doubles the penalty up to a maximum of $20,000.
- Stay on the routes and in the counties you’re permitted for.
- Scale All Loads
- Be mindful of unit switches – TX/OW permits are truck specific.
- Keep your Certificate of Weight in the cab.
- Provide the Certificate of Weight prior to seeking an overweight permit.