24.6 C
New York

ATA Names National Truck Driving Champions


SAN DIEGOOct. 6, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — Today, American Trucking Associations recognized the winners of some of the industry’s top honors.

“The trucking industry is full of individuals who demonstrate daily a commitment to safety and professionalism, but there are certain individuals who have gone beyond the call of duty in demonstrating that commitment,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves.

Winners of the National Truck Driving Championships and TMCSuperTech National Technician Skills Competition were honored here during the ATA Management Conference & Exhibition.

ATA recognized Jeffrey Langenhahn, a Con-way Freight professional truck driver based in Plover, Wisc., and 2014 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion, as well as Mark McLean Jr., a technician with FedEx Freight, Montgomery, N.Y., 2014 Technology and Maintenance Council SuperTech Grand Champion.

Both events were held earlier this year and a full list of division winners is below.

ATA will be announcing its National Truck Driver of the Year, National Safety Director of the Year and National Safety Professional Award of Excellence winners October 28-30 at the Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Orlando, Fla.

National Truck Driving Championships Winners
Straight TruckBrendan Sharp, FedEx Freight (Henderson, Colo.)
Three-AxleBasher Pierce, FedEx Freight (Sophia, N.C.)
Four-AxleJames Quarles, Walmart Transportation LLC (Laurens, S.C.)
Five-AxleWayne Gootee, Walmart Transportation (Brooklyn, Mich.)
Sleeper Berth ClassMatt Awbrey, Walmart Transportation LLC (Franklin, Ga.)
Twins: Jeffrey Langenhahn, Con-way Freight (Plover, Wisc.)
Flatbed Class:  Paul Brandon, FedEx Freight (Oxford, Conn.)
Tank Truck ClassChristopher Miller, United Petroleum Transport (Cowetta, Okla.)
Step Van: Christopher Shaw, FedEx Express (Albuquerque, N.M.)
Rookie of the Year: David Guinn, Publix Super Markets Inc. (Mulberry, Fla.)

TMCSuperTech National Technician Skills Competition Winners
ASE Written Test: Jeffrey Nesheim, Ryder System (Carol Stream, Ill.)
Starting & Charging: Jeffrey Nesheim, Ryder System (Carol Stream, Ill.)
HVAC: Eric Rusk, McKee Foods Transportation LLC (Gentry, Ark.)
Brakes: Darrell Duggan, Walmart Transportation LLC (Grantsville, Utah)
Steering & Suspension: Frederick Morra, Ryder System (Hanford, Calif.)
Fifth Wheel: Robert Bruen, Swift Transportation Co. (Jonestown, Pa.)
Tire & Wheel: Joseph Calaway, Walmart Transportation LLC (Reading, Mich.)
PMI: Andrew Dilmuth, FedEx Freight (Jacksonville, Fla.)
Drivetrain: Mark McLean Jr., FedEx Freight (Montgomery, N.Y.)
Engine Electronics: Jeff Schlecht, Omaha Truck Center (Omaha, Neb.)
Service Information: Mark McLean Jr., FedEx Freight (Montgomery, N.Y.)
Electrical 2: Darrell Duggan, Walmart Transportation LLC (Grantsville, Utah)
Engine Hardware: Christopher Tate, Mohawk Truck (West Seneca, N.Y.)
Wheel End 2: Mark McLean Jr., FedEx  Freight (Montgomery, N.Y.)
Liftgates: Eric Vos, FedEx Freight (Boise, Idaho)

American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation’s freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or on Facebook. Trucking Moves America Forward


SOURCE American Trucking Associations



Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking