27.7 C
New York

Virginia Will End Conceal And Carry Reciprocity Agreements With 25 States


Attorney General Mark R. Herring announced today that Virginia will no longer recognize conceal and carry permits from 25 other states.

Effective February 1, conceal and carry permits from Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming will no longer be recognized in Virginia.

Herring says that he believes the change will prevent dangerous or irresponsible people from concealing and carrying a weapon in Virginia.

The end of the reciprocity agreements also means that a conceal and carry permit issued in Virginia will no longer be valid in several states which require mutual recognition of permits, which include Florida, Louisiana, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Wyoming.

Authorities also say that nonresidents can obtain a Virginia visitor’s permit if they show that they meet the state’s requirements.

The Washington Times
The Washington Post


Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking