Oklahoma Highway Patrol (OHP) has begun looking more closely at driving behaviors in the left lane.
“Nov. 1 they have changed the law you are no longer allowed to travel in that left lane except to pass or other circumstances, there’s a parked emergency vehicle on the shoulder or you are exiting to the left,” Trooper Dwight Durant, with the OHP said.
The main goal of this new law is to deter drivers from traveling too slowly in the left lane. The OHP believes that slow drivers in the left lane lead to road rage.
“What it speaks to, people that just continually drive in the left lane, for 10, 20, 30 miles at a time.” Capt. Paul Timmons told KOCO News 5.
After you pass, move back over to the right lane(s).
This law will apply to lanes in all four-lane divided highways in Oklahoma, including interstates and turnpikes.
The fine for hanging out too long in the left lane too long is $236.50.