Just a reminder — chain laws will go into effect in the state of Colorado at the beginning of September.
Colorado Chain Laws In Effect September — May
Starting on September 1 through May 31, all commercial vehicles traveling on I-70 in either direction between mile marker 133 and mile marker 259 much carry sufficient chains in order to comply with Colorado chain up laws.
Trucks with gross combined weight rating of 26,001 lbs or more must have four or more drive wheels covered with approved traction devices, per Colorado law. Dual tire chains are considered to be approved traction devices.
The fines for violating Colorado chain laws are as follows:
- Failing to carry chains on I-70 — $50 + $17 surcharge
- Not chaining up when the chain law is in effect statewide — $500 + $79 surcharge
- Blocking a highway as a result of not chaining up — $1000 + $57 surcharge
Chain Up Station Locations:
I-70 Eastbound: Mileposts 178, 183, 184 (shoulder), 187 (shoulder), 195, 203 (scenic area), 205, 219, 228, 241, 251, 289, 343
I-70 Westbound: Mileposts 358, 263, 260, 254 (Buffalo Overlook), 228, 223, 221, 219, 213, 197, 179
I-25 Northbound: Milepost 159 I-25 Southbound: Milepost 172
You can click here to sign up for email or text message alerts regarding Colorado chain laws.
Sign up for the CDLLife Newsletter
Subscribe to our mailing list and get today's top trucking news delivered to your inbox.