Dozens of truckers ticketed for idling during enforcement sweep

The fines for "excessive idling" of commercial vehicles are $250 for a first offense, $500 for a second offense, and $1,000 for the third offense and each subsequent violation.

3 Minute Idling Law

New Jersey officials issued dozens of citations to commercial vehicle drivers who were idling during an enforcement patrol last month.

According to a June 20 news release from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, the enforcement activities took place May 20 — 21 in Newark. The enforcement sweep was intended to enforce state regulations that forbid drivers from idling for more than 3 minutes with limited exceptions (you can click here to learn more about those exceptions).

Representatives from multiple agencies descended on areas where they’d been tipped off by the public as hot spots for commercial vehicle idling, officials say.

During the two day effort, they issued 39 citations for “excessive idling” of a diesel vehicle and 6 citations for smoke violations.

The penalties for “excessive idling” of commercial vehicles are $250 for a first offense, $500 for a second offense, and $1,000 for the third offense and each subsequent violation.

“New Jersey has had a no-idling law in effect since 1971 and we will continue to enforce it, in order to maintain quality of life and protect public health,” said Richelle Wormley, Acting Assistant Commissioner for Compliance and Enforcement. “These types of enforcement sweeps will continue throughout the state.”

Officers with DEP’s Division of Air Enforcement, the Essex Regional Health Commission, the Newark Police Department, and the Commercial Vehicle Inspection teams of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey all participated in the enforcement activities.

Find the perfect match.
Apply once and get offers from the top trucking companies.