22.1 C
New York

Month-long, statewide aggressive driving blitz begins tomorrow


A statewide enforcement blitz to curb aggressive driving begins tomorrow in Pennsylvania.

According to a PennDOT press release, from July 29 though August 23, more than 60 law enforcement agencies throughout the state will be patrolling Pennsylvania’s roadways, looking for drivers who are driving aggressively in an effort to reduce the number of crashes, injuries, and deaths.

Authorities will be looking for red-light runners, speeders, distracted drivers, tailgaters and “heavy truck violations.”

“According to 2019 Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) data, there were 1,546 aggressive-driving related crashes, resulting in 22 fatalities in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties,” the PennDOT press release states.

Last year, 39,141 aggressive-driving related contacts were made. Of those, 22,323 citations were given for speeding and 3,077 were given for failure to stop at red lights or stop signs.

The following police departments in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties will participate in the current aggressive-driving mobilization:
Bucks County:

  • Central Bucks Regional Police Department;
  • Bensalem Township;
  • Warrington Township;
  • Penndel Borough; 
  • Upper Southampton Township;
  • Doylestown Township;
  • Buckingham Township;
  • Hilltown Township;
  • New Britain Township;
  • Bristol Township;
  • Richland Township;
  • Dublin Borough;
  • Newtown Township;
  • Lower Southampton Township; and
  • Plumstead Township.

Chester County:

  • Easttown Township;
  • Southern Chester County Regional PD;
  • Schuylkill Township;
  • Tredyffrin Township;
  • Upper Uwchlan Township;
  • Uwchlan Township;
  • West Brandywine Township;
  • West Chester Borough;
  • West Goshen Township;
  • West Whiteland Township; and
  • Willistown Township.

Delaware County: 

  • Aston Township;
  • Chester City;
  • Haverford Township;
  • Lansdowne Borough;
  • Marple Township;
  • Newtown Township;
  • Radnor Township;
  • Ridley Township;
  • Springfield Township;
  • Upper Providence Township; and
  • Yeadon Borough.

Montgomery County:

  • Abington Township;
  • Cheltenham Township;
  • Douglass Township;
  • Franconia Township;
  • Hatfield Township;
  • Horsham Township;
  • Limerick Township;
  • Lower Merion Township;
  • Lower Moreland Township;
  • Lower Pottsgrove Township;
  • Lower Providence Township;
  • Montgomery Township;
  • New Hanover Township;
  • Norristown;
  • Plymouth Township;
  • Pottstown Borough;
  • Towamencin Township;
  • Upper Dublin Township;
  • Upper Merion Township; 
  • Upper Moreland Township;
  • Upper Providence Township;
  • West Norriton Township; and
  • Whitemarsh Township.


  • Philadelphia Police Department.

Photo Credit: Pennsylvania State Police


Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking