19.9 C
New York

NYC sets up random COVID-19 travel checkpoints


Officials in New York City are opening quarantine travel checkpoints in an attempt to slow the spread of the Coronavirus.

New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio made the announcement about the checkpoints on August 5. The checkpoints are meant to ensure that travelers comply with quarantine requirements to self- isolate for two weeks upon entry into the city if they have visited 35 designated states or territories with high COVID-19 transmission rates.

The checkpoints are opening at undisclosed “key entry points” into New York City on Thursday, August 6 and could continue for the foreseeable future.

The fine for travelers who refuse to fill out a travel form is $2000. Violation of quarantine can result in a $10,000 fine. Involuntary quarantine is also possible for violators.

Truckers are considered “essential workers” and are not subject to the same quarantine requirements as non-essential workers. According to a news release from de Blasio’s office, essential workers who are subject to the state’s quarantine requirements must:

  • Self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19 and self-quarantine and seek medical advice or testing if they show symptoms of COVID-19; and
  • Limit their activities involving contact with other persons for fourteen (14) days to the purposes that exempted them from the self-quarantine requirement to the extent possible.
  • If staying longer than 36 hours in New York state, seek diagnostic testing for COVID-19 as soon as possible upon arrival (within 24 hours).

Critics of the random travel checkpoints say that they could increase traffic congestion and that they are an invasion of privacy.

The 35 states and territories on NYC’s travel advisory list as of August 5 are below.

  • Alaska 
  • Alabama 
  • Arkansas 
  • Arizona 
  • California 
  • Florida 
  • Georgia 
  • Iowa 
  • Idaho 
  • Illinois 
  • Indiana 
  • Kansas 
  • Kentucky 
  • Louisiana 
  • Maryland 
  • Minnesota 
  • Missouri 
  • Mississippi 
  • Montana 
  • North Carolina 
  • North Dakota 
  • Nebraska 
  • New Mexico  
  • Nevada 
  • Ohio 
  • Oklahoma 
  • Puerto Rico 
  • Rhode Island 
  • South Carolina 
  • Tennessee 
  • Texas 
  • Utah 
  • Virginia 
  • Washington 
  • Wisconsin 

Please click here for more on NYC’s travel checkpoints.


Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking