30.9 C
New York

New advisory board seeks to strengthen the relationship between truckers & law enforcement


This week, the American Trucking Associations (ATA) announced the formation of an advisory board comprised of trucking industry stakeholders and law enforcement officials.

The ATA’s “Law Enforcement Advisory Board” was announced March 24.

The ATA says that the purpose of the group is to provide direction on “ways to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country.”

The 22 member panel is made up of ATA members with law enforcement ties in addition to current and former law enforcement officers. The ATA says that the board will meet bimonthly and will focus on issues including including combatting human trafficking; increasing truck parking capacity and ensuring driver safety at rest stops; commercial motor vehicle safety and security; and enhancing access to training for drivers and company safety personnel. 

“No two groups have a stronger and more consistent presence on our nation’s highways than law enforcement officers and American truckers,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “Therein lies a strategic opportunity for greater collaboration, increased communication, and new bonds. The incredible depth and breadth of experience represented on this board will be an invaluable asset for our industry, the law enforcement community, and the safety of the motoring public alike.” 

You can view the board members below.

  • Derek Barrs, HNTB Corporation
  • Joe Allen Boyd, professional driver, Walmart Inc.
  • Rick Cates, Marsh USA Inc.
  • Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center 
  • Butch Day, Yellow Corporation 
  • Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs and Consulting
  • Floyd Dixon, FedEx Freight
  • Fred Fakkema, Zonar Systems, Inc.
  • Jeff Ferber, ABF Freight System
  • Kent Grisham, Nebraska Trucking Association
  • Chris Harris, ABF Freight System
  • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises 
  • Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line 
  • John McKown, professional driver, UPS Freight
  • Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance 
  • Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association
  • Myron Rau, South Dakota Trucking Association
  • John Spiros, Roehl Transport
  • Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department 
  • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Police Department 
  • Donnie Ware, ABF Freight System

Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking