Starting in July, drivers who blast loud music in the state of Florida could be fined by law enforcement.
Effective July 1, 2022, Florida Statute 316.3045 goes into effect, forbidding drivers from playing excessively loud music in their vehicles.
The new law specifically forbids playing music or other sounds from a vehicle that are “plainly audible at a distance of 25 feet or more from the motor vehicle.”
Citations for violating the law could cost you between $114 and $116, depending on what Florida county tickets you.
Florida Trooper Steve Montiero told local outlet ClickOrlando.com, “There is no specific way or tool to measure this. Simply put, if an officer can hear the music from the vehicle from over 25 feet, then there is a violation. It does not matter what type of music, it does not matter if your windows are up, the law is very simple.”
See the full text of the statute below.
(1) It is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to operate or amplify the sound produced by a radio, tape player, or other mechanical soundmaking device or instrument from within the motor vehicle so that the sound is:(a) Plainly audible at a distance of 25 feet or more from the motor vehicle; or(b) Louder than necessary for the convenient hearing by persons inside the vehicle in areas adjoining churches, schools, or hospitals.
(2) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any law enforcement motor vehicle equipped with any communication device necessary in the performance of law enforcement duties or to any emergency vehicle equipped with any communication device necessary in the performance of any emergency procedures.
(3) The provisions of this section do not apply to motor vehicles used for business or political purposes, which in the normal course of conducting such business use soundmaking devices. The provisions of this subsection shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities, with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction and within the reasonable exercise of the police power, from regulating the time and manner in which such business may be operated.
(4) The provisions of this section do not apply to the noise made by a horn or other warning device required or permitted by s. 316.271. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall promulgate rules defining “plainly audible” and establish standards regarding how sound should be measured by law enforcement personnel who enforce the provisions of this section.
(5) A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a nonmoving violation as provided in chapter 318.