Drivers in Maryland will be subject to expanded “Move Over” law requirements in just a few more weeks.
Starting October 1, 2022, Maryland’s “Move Over” law will expand to include require motorists to make a lane change or slow down when approaching any stopped, standing, or parked vehicle displaying warning signals – including hazard warning lights, road flares, or other caution signals including traffic cones, caution signs, or non-vehicular warning signs.
Drivers who violate the new Move Over law face a misdemeanor carrying a $110 fine and one point on their license. If the violation causes a crash, the fine is $150 and three points. If there is a death or serious injury, the fine is $750 and three points.
Prior to the October 1 changes, the Move Over law only provided protection for emergency responders, law enforcement personnel, and CHART trucks who provide motorists roadside assistance. In 2014, the law was extended to include tow truck drivers.
Per the law, if it is not safe or feasible to move over, motorists must slow to a reasonable and prudent speed that is safe for existing weather, road, and vehicular or pedestrian traffic conditions.
The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) says that the expanded move over requirements are designed to protect law enforcement, first responders, and drivers who encounter a highway emergency.