8.3 C
New York

National Truck Driving Championships Enter Final Phase


Hundreds of drivers showed up in Pittsburgh this week to show off their driving skills at the 77th annual National Truck Driving Championships, hosted in part, by the American Trucking Association.

After being tested on inspection skills including a written test, a personal-interview and a pre-trip inspection, the top five finalists in each category were announced today and will now enter the next phase of the competition: a drive-off.

The top five drivers in each of the eight categories – from straight trucks to step vans – will be challenged in a final test around a specifically designed truck obstacle course.

Referred to as the “Super Bowl of Safety”, the competition helps promote professionalism among drivers, attract new drivers and above all else, promote safe driving.

“I applaud all the competitors for their efforts in making our highways safe, and congratulate the finalists for demonstrating how a dedication to safe driving skills can make you a champion,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves.

The NTDC attracts about 2,000 spectators ever year. The eight categories drivers can compete in are Straight Truck Class, 3-Axle Class, 4-Axle Class, 5 Axle-Class, Flatbed Class, Tank Truck Class, Twins Class, Sleeper Berth Class and Step Van.

To qualify for the national championships, drivers much have a spotless driving record for at least a year before competing. Awards include first, second and third place titles as well as one for professional excellence, vehicle condition, rookie of the year and grand champion.


Associations Now

Market Watch



Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking