Starting September 1, the Texas Move Over/Slow Down law will require drivers to move over or slow down when approaching Texas Department of Transportation workers and vehicles that are stopped with overhead flashing blue or amber lights. The law provides the same protection to Texas Department of Transportation workers that it currently provides for police, fire and emergency vehicles.
The expansion of the Mover Over law will require drivers to move out of the lane closest to the TxDOT when possible. If it’s not possible to move over, drivers will be required to reduce their speed to 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit.
If the road does not have multiple lanes, and the posted speed limit is 25 miles per hour or less, drivers must slow down to 5 miles per hour.
Violators may be fined up to $2,000.
“We are very pleased the Legislature recognizes the dangers our employees face each day while working to maintain and build the state’s vast highway network,” said Phil Wilson, TxDOT’s executive director, noting that more than 100 TxDOT employees working in construction areas have been struck and killed by motorists since 1938. “We are hopeful that this new protection for our crews will lead to fewer preventable deaths and injuries.”
Radio announcements and statewide billboards will help raise awareness of the new Move Over/Slow Down law.