Two Alabama Laws Take Aim At Truckers

Cargo Theft

Two new laws are that are set to go into effect soon in Alabama will affect current and prospective CMV drivers.

The laws are scheduled to take effect on July 1st.

The laws are part of House Bill 118.  The laws bring the state into compliance with current federal mandates.

The first law will require that prospective CDL holders to wait 14 days after obtaining their permit before they can take their road test.

The CDL permit will be valid for six months and may be renewed for an additional six months.

“No commercial driver’s license shall be issued until an applicant has first obtained a commercial driver’s instruction permit. No skills test required for the issuance of a commercial driver’s license shall be given until 14 days have expired from the issuance of a commercial driver’s instruction permit,” the bill states.

The second law prohibits CMV drivers to drive while holding onto any type of wireless device.

In addition, the law makes it illegal to drive while reaching for a device if it requires the driver to get out of a seated position.

The bill sates:

No person shall operate a commercial motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while:
(A) Holding a wireless telecommunications device to conduct a voice communication;

(B) Using more than a single button on a wireless telecommunications device to initiate or terminate a voice communication; or
(C) Reaching for a wireless telecommunications device in such a manner that requires the driver to maneuver so that he or she is no longer in a seated driving position properly restrained by a safety belt.