16.2 C
New York

Feds suspend regulations for flood relief truck drivers in 16 states


The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has suspended numerous safety regulations in multiple states for truck drivers providing relief supplies to flood and other natural disaster victims.

On May 23, the FMCSA announced that they would be extending emergency declarations in 16 states for truck drivers who are “providing direct assistance supporting emergency relief efforts.” The emergency declaration grants drivers emergency relief from Parts 390 – 399 of Title 49 CFR, which includes Hours of Service regulations.

The emergency declaration is valid through July 2, 2019.

The FMCSA said that the emergency declaration was brought on by flooding and extreme weather in the Great Plains and Midwest.

The emergency declaration was enacted for the following states:













*South Dakota


*West Virginia


The emergency declaration does not exempt truckers from complying with CDL, drug or alcohol, hazardous materials, or State/Federal registration and tax requirements.

You can click here for more information on the 16 state emergency declaration.


Get the hottest daily trucking news

This Week in Trucking