This week, Minnesota law enforcement will be conducting extra patrols to crack down on distracted driving.
From now through Saturday, August 8, troopers with the Minnesota State Patrol will be conducting extra enforcement efforts to crack down on distracted driving.
The minimum fine for distracted driving is $120 for a first offense and can go up to more than $300 for subsequent offenses.
The enforcement detail comes one year after Minnesota passed a hands-free cell phone law. Authorities say that more than 19,000 motorists have been ticketed for violating the hands-free law since it went into effect.
For more information on Minnesota’s hands-free law, please click here.